Image Source: Disney Books

High times in the High Republic

A new Star Wars book series

2021 kicks off with the release of a new Star Wars series of books called “Star Wars: The High Republic”. Taking place ‘centuries before the Skywalker saga’ (a pre-prequel era?), the Jedi are faced with an evil that could unbalance the force itself.

The story begins with Light of the Jedi by Charles Soule, A Test of Courage by Justina Ireland, and The Great Jedi Rescue by Cavan Scott. All three books offer a variety of new characters and perspectives with tales crafted for fans big and small. Following these 3 books will be graphic novels and magazines to continue and clarify the new story.

To begin the story is Book 1, Light of the Jedi. Disney describes it as such:

Image Source: Disney Books

“It is a golden age. Intrepid hyperspace scouts expand the reach of the Republic to the furthest stars, worlds flourish under the benevolent leadership of the Senate, and peace reigns, enforced by the wisdom and strength of the renowned order of Force users known as the Jedi. With the Jedi at the height of their power, the free citizens of the galaxy are confident in their ability to weather any storm But the even brightest light can cast a shadow, and some storms defy any preparation.

When a shocking catastrophe in hyperspace tears a ship to pieces, the flurry of shrapnel emerging from the disaster threatens an entire system. No sooner does the call for help go out than the Jedi race to the scene. The scope of the emergence, however, is enough to push even Jedi to their limit. As the sky breaks open and destruction rains down upon the peaceful alliance they helped to build, the Jedi must trust in the Force to see them through a day in which a single mistake could cost billions of lives.

Even as the Jedi battle valiantly against calamity, something truly deadly grows beyond the boundary of the Republic. The hyperspace disaster is far more sinister than the Jedi could ever suspect. A threat hides in the darkness, far from the light of the age, and harbors a secret that could strike fear into even a Jedi’s heart.”

Books 1 and 2 are available now.