Image Source: FFA/NZF
Image Source: FFA/NZF

Australia and New Zealand to host 2023 Womens World Cup

The #AsOne Campaign Wins

Football Federation Australia (FFA) and New Zealand Football (NZF) have won the campaign to host the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 will be realised after being awarded the rights by FIFA.

The FIFA Council made their landmark decision in the early hours in Australian Eastern Time, which will see the two countries host a tournament of firsts ─ the first ever co-confederation hosted FIFA World Cup, the first ever FIFA Women’s World Cup to be held in the Asia-Pacific region, and the first ever to be held in the southern hemisphere.

“Australia and New Zealand will not only host a FIFA Women’s World Cup that is the largest tournament ever run, but it will also be a catalyst for ensuring the development of women’s football continues in the Asia-Pacific region and globally.”
– NZF President and FIFA Council Member, Johanna Wood

A player-centric tournament, Australia-New Zealand promises to deliver record-breaking crowds and long-term participation growth, bringing football together as one (#AsOne being the bidding tagline) to celebrate the women’s game.

“The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 in Australia and New Zealand will be ground-breaking in many ways. Not only will it be the first ever co-confederation hosted FIFA World Cup and the first ever FIFA Women’s World Cup in the Asia-Pacific region, but we will unlock the huge potential for growth in women’s football in the Asia-Pacific region.”
– FFA President, Chris Nikou

FFA and NZF have wished thanks to the Australian and New Zealand governments, Matildas’ and Football Ferns’ fans and the entire football family who have supported the bid from the outset, as well as the bidding team who worked tirelessly to develop a bid that will unlock the untapped football potential of the Asia-Pacific region.

The public supporter count reached over 800,000.