Image Source: Kane Oosty/Socceroos.

Mat Ryan | PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year 2020

Professional Footballers Australia 2020 Players' Award Ceremony

This isn’t his first rodeo! Mat is a multiple winner of this honour. He previously received it in 2015 and again in 2019, thus has established himself as a legendary Australian player. He is known for his performances in Brighton and Hove Albion’s first-choice goalkeeper, playing a crucial position in securing the Seagull’s fourth season in the English Premier League. Australia’s key EPL representative, the blocker also captained the Socceroos in all vital 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying wins against Taiwan and also Jordan.

He is also a former A-League midfielder and currently holds the position of creative director at Local FC which have led many artistic projects highlighting Australian football stories on the island continent and all over the world.

“It’s always the most prestigious one when you’re voted by fellow colleagues you’re rubbing shoulders with; for them to acknowledge and recognise your contribution and to Australian football, it’s a very humbling feeling.”

– Mat Ryan, PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year 2020

Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) recently held an online ceremony for the 2020 PFA Players’ Awards, ‘celebrating the significant contribution of the game’s established and emerging players’. It’s the Logies of Footballers in Australia if people actually cared for the Logies.

Just to give you an overview, the 2020 PFA Players’ Awards were voted on by the PFA’s members with consideration on the performances of PFA members during the 2019/20 Australian football season.

“Last season was unique in many ways, so I think it’s important to acknowledge and celebrate the extraordinary achievements and efforts of our members on the Australian and global stage during a period like no other.”

– Alex Wilkinson, PFA President

Since they could not be there in person, due to COVID-19, the PFA engaged in local and global designers to create unique illustrations of each of the award recipients. The aim was to help celebrate the winners and promote the game’s diverse football culture in Australia and it’s place in the world of our beautiful game.